Five Kids… No Car…


ImageSeriously, my luck with cars has never existed.  From the moment I started driving, I started killing cars. Not so sure this latest adventure with our latest fund drainer (a 97 Ford Expedition) was entirely my undoing, but my mojo definitely helped in the necessity of an engine rebuild. At least this time, there was a positive outcome.  No more car, but the loan is now paid off, the loss of payment will pay my midwife and the additional loss of the cost of gas, will put an additional $300 in our pockets!  And, the kids and I get a good dose of adventure in the form of public transportation, which is heavy in planning, patience and humbleness.

First adventure:  Little sister’s college graduation in Reno.  First lesson learned:  Never take the bus at night.  Second lesson learned: Never take the bus at night.  Third lesson learned:  Never take the bus at night. 

I think you get the point.  It was hell.  I took just the “littles” and begged the universe to allow them sleep.  Thanks, universe… I wish you would have reminded me that I am 4 months pregnant and my almost two year old daughter weighs 5 lbs less than my 4 year old son, who sleeps harder than any human being I’ve ever known.  Oh they slept alright… which was great until it was time to get on or off the bus, get our bags or you know… move…  at all. 

But we made it and I got to see my beautiful baby sister walk the stage as the first in our family to graduate from college!  An the experience gave me clarity and strength.  For years we’ve been dependent on automobiles and for years they have been a major cause of my anxiety and stress.  Driving them cause me to panic.  Paying for them cause me to become depressed and with five kids, I’ve had many a crying session just cleaning them.  :p

Ask me again in a few weeks, but for now, I’m calling this a success!  I’m inspired to adventure out more because the stress of actually driving is gone.  And walking in this weather has proven to be a blessing as well.  There’s nothing like a beautiful California day to take away any lingering stress. Not to mention the costs. 

Bring it on universe.  Five kids… no car… no problem! 🙂

Image

Congratulations again, baby sister. I’m so so very proud of you! Love you with all my heart and soul! ❤

 

Leave a comment